Home / Featured / Awarded the 2017 Prize for Women Playwrights

Awarded the 2017 Prize for Women Playwrights


Y’all, I am very excited to announce that I have won the 2017 Prize for Women Playwrights.  I copied the announcement below and added some hand notes, but the original announcement is here.

The panel picked Timeless from over 350 international submissions so I am super stoked they picked mine.  They didn’t realize I was from KY till we talked after the announcement and they were super thrilled as I’m the first winner from the state.


Original PR release:

As of July 25, 2017, we are so pleased to announce that the 2017 winner of the Prize for Women Playwrights is:

Timeless: A Scientific Comedy, by Raegan Payne

Raegan currently resides in Corona del Mar, CA, but is a native of Louisville, KY, [Note: I was actually born in Murray, KY but spent a portion of my childhood in Louisville where my mom would take me to free or discounted shows at the Actors Theatre of Louisville, which probably helped inspired this playwright thing] and she is thrilled to have her play premiering in her home state [Truth]. Timeless will have its world premiere in 4 performances on November 2-4, 2017, directed by Eric Seale at the Farish Theatre in Lexington, KY, and the playwright will be available for a conversation with the audience after one of these performances [Probably at the Saturday matinee]. Stay tuned for more details about casting and the production!


As of June 6, 2017, we’re thrilled to congratulate these 5 finalists:

  • Sin Cycle, by May Donnet-Johnson, of Nashville
  • Ghost Walks into a Bar, by Mora V. Harris, of Pittsburgh
  • Beautiful Savage, by Kathleen McDonnell, of Toronto
  • Timeless, by Raegan Payne, of Corona del Mar, CA
  • The Impracticality of Modern-Day Mastodons, by Rachel Teagle, of Saint Paul, MN

And here is a picture of some of the lovely people who evaluated the plays:


Be Sociable, Share!

About Raegan

Scroll To Top